Listen to new track ‘The Ship’

Brian Eno 

Listen to new track ‘The Ship’


Brian Eno has shared the first piece of music from his forthcoming solo album, his first since 2012’s Grammy-nominated LUX. 

‘The Ship’ is title track, album opener and thematic core of the album. Running at 21-minutes and built around Eno’s cyclically sung verses, the song builds in ominous drama, snatches of distant voice and creeping electronics.

Released on 29 April, Brian Eno’s new album ‘The Ship’ is available to preorder on CD, Vinyl and digital formats, with an instant download of the album’s title track, at:

Bleep • Eno Shop

Also available on iTunes and Amazon

  1. Brian Eno - The Ship
  2. Brian Eno - Fickle Sun (i)
  3. Brian Eno - Fickle Sun (ii) The Hour Is Thin
  4. Brian Eno - Fickle Sun (iii) I’m Set Free

“The piece started as an Ambient work intended for a multi channel sound installation in Stockholm, but during the making of it I discovered that I could now sing a low C - which happens to be the root note of the piece. Getting older does have a few fringe benefits after all. From that point the work turned into an unusual kind of song...a type I've never made before where the vocal floats free, untethered to a rhythmic grid of any kind.”

— Brian Eno