Chorus - an installation collaboration between United Visual Artists & Mira Calix awarded a distinction at Prix Ars Electronica 2010

Mira Calix 

Chorus - an installation collaboration between United Visual Artists & Mira Calix awarded a distinction at Prix Ars Electronica 2010

Chorus - the stunning installation collaboration between United Visual Artists (see Battles - Tonto video...) & Mira Calix awarded a distinction in the interactive art category at Prix Ars Electronica 2010. See Chorus in London this summer at The Wapping Project.

Also below is information about 'half flower, half self' a new collaborative work for Opera North by Mira Calix and Alice Oswald

Chorus @ The Wapping Project, London: 16 June – 18 July

Noon – 10.30pm daily, except Sunda y to 5.30pm. Free .

CHORUS will spend the summer in london at the Wapping Project.

The sculptural work consists of a group of massive pendulums suspended from the roof. A light and a speaker are mounted on each of the motor assisted pendulums, together forming a single instrument. Each light pendulum emits its own unique musical score, an individual voice in the darkness that together forms a
perfect ensemble of light and sound.

While the work explores the relationship between performance, sculpture and installation, musical composition sits at its heart. Composed by Mira Calix, the composition is structured in three distinct phases which will resonate through the dark space, punctuated only by the choreographed pendulums of light.

CHORUS was originally commissioned in March 2009 by Opera North Projects, in association with The Culture Company, to celebrate the reopening of the Howard Assembly Rooms in Leeds and The Wapping Project installation marks the work’s debut in the south of England.

The Wapping Project website

half flower, half self by Alice Oswald and Mira Calix

Resonance FM
18 June, Howard Assembly Rooms, Leeds

For 2010 Opera North has commissioned new short works exploring different ways that the relationship between a composer and a writer can work, and the ways in which music interacts with literary writing. As part of this Resonance progamme, Mira Calix has worked with award winning poet Alice Oswald, and written two new pieces for soprano Charmian Bedford, Sarah Nicholls, piano and Oliver Coates, cello and electronics.

Alice Oswald has written two collections of poetry, THE THING IN THE GAP-STONE STILE, which was the recipient of the Forward Prize and Dart which won the T S Eliot Award. She won the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize in 2006 for her collection of poetry Woods, Etc, a Cholmondely Award for her contribution to poetry in 2009 and the inaugural Ted Hughes Award for new poetry in 2010.

Other new works by composers Larry Goves and Emily Hall will premiere the same evening and you can hear a preview of Mira's new piece on Claudia Winkelman's The Arts Show - BBC radio 2 on the 11th of June.