New album 'Compass' featuring Beck, Feist, Chris Taylor from Grizzly Bear and more - Released May 17/18

Jamie Lidell 

New album 'Compass' featuring Beck, Feist, Chris Taylor from Grizzly Bear and more - Released May 17/18

Jamie Lidell's fourth full-length album 'Compass' will be released on May 17th 2010 (May 18th in the US).

Listen to a stream of the brand new title track at the bottom of this article, or over at the holding page. Pitchfork have already described 'Compass' as a "shape-shifting mini epic... a track that sounds like nothing Lidell has done before".

The album was recorded in Los Angeles, New York and Canada, and it includes collaborations with Beck, Feist, Gonzales, Chris Taylor of Grizzly Bear and Pat Sansone of Wilco.

Sessions began at Beck’s Hudson Studios in Los Angeles, where he gathered Jamie together with Wilco, Leslie Feist and veteran drummer James Gadson (who’s played with Bill Withers, Quincy Jones among many others) for Beck’s Record Club project (where a group of musicians cover an album in a day). Inspired by the chemistry of those jams, they shifted to the legendary Ocean Way Studios. There, they were joined by producer/keyboardist Brian Lebarton, singer Nikka Costa, and Justin Stanley. All would have an important impact on the album. Pat Sansone from Wilco and Chilly Gonzales (who’s played on both Multiply and Jim) were present as “musical meta-spirits”, recording their parts remotely and delivering them via the internet. As Jamie says of this formidable line-up of brilliant collaborators - "You don’t fuck with them"

Back in New York he began to make sense of this "great big mess on the hard drive". Then it was up to Feist’s ranch the Niagara Escarpment, Canada with Chris Taylor, member of Grizzly Bear.

"I wrote every song in a month,” Jamie says, "It’s been an emotional couple of years, so I tapped into what I wanted to say and started writing. There was a lot to draw on."

Jamie Lidell - Official Site
Jamie Lidell - MySpace
Jamie Lidell - Facebook

Jamie Lidell - Compass
WARP192 - Released May 17/18th 2010

01. Completely Exposed
02. Your Sweet Boom
03. She Needs Me
04. I Wanna Be Your Telephone
05. Enough’s Enough
06. The Ring
07. You Are Waking
08. I Can Love Again
09. It’s A Kiss
10. Compass
11. Gypsy Blood
12. Coma Chameleon
13. Big Drift
14. You See My Light