New album ‘Hinterland’ will be released in March, listen to second single ‘Bunkerpop’


New album ‘Hinterland’ will be released in March, listen to second single ‘Bunkerpop’


Following last year's single ‘Groove It Out’, LoneLady (aka Julie Campbell) will release her new album ‘Hinterland’ on 23 March.

The second full length album follows 2010’s ‘Nerve Up’. Listen to new single ‘Bunkerpop’ now via SoundCloud and pre-order the album from,


  1. LoneLady - Bunkerpop
  2. LoneLady - Bunkerpop (LoneLady Michigan Pitch Down Mix)
  3. LoneLady - Bunkerpop (Wrangler Mix)

“It’s channelling Parliament/Funkadelic, Stevie Wonder, Rufus, Prince, Arthur Russell… among others. A strange – but nonetheless real – meeting of funk and… me from Audenshaw, Manchester.

... an inescapably cement-coloured North of England psyche.

Julie Campbell

Hinterland (literally “the country behind” in German) conjures impressions of decayed Manchester outskirts and reclusive inner landscapes obsessively throughout the record, as Campbell continues her fascination with the post-industrial ruin-scape. At its core beats an uncomplicated drum machine rhythm and synthetic percussion that recalls fractured memories of minimal wave and even early techno and dance, dynamically spliced through with Campbell’s intricate, choppy and propulsive guitar playing.

With longer, exploratory songs full of inventive twists and turns, the album expands the stark palette of its predecessor, ‘Nerve Up’ into more colourful territories, with a funk influence emerging.

Performing guitar, keyboards, cello, vocals, using drum machines, drum-pads and more, Campbell recorded, mixed and produced the material for her new album in her home studio, Concrete Retreat. She then travelled to an industrial region of Michigan to complete the production with Bill Skibbe (Austra, The Kills, The Dead Weather) at Keyclub Recording Co., a treasure trove of classic synths, drum machines and a 70’s Flickinger console that had one previous owner - Sly Stone.

“I found it a totally sympathetic environment to be in and found a shared aesthetic in Bill; I felt he’d sensitively aid the finishing of the songs and not disrupt their character. We’d often dig out Youtube clips for the other to enjoy; including Sharevari at The Scene, the frazzled Loopzilla, John Carpenter’s Assault On Precinct 13 and more…”
– Julie Campbell

Live Shows


24 – London, GB @ Electowerkz (Tickets)
26 – Manchester, GB @ Future Everything Festival (Tickets)


8 – Nottingham, GB @ Bodega (Tickets)
10 – London, GB @ Oslo (Tickets)
13 – Bristol, GB @ Lousianna (Tickets)
14 – Brighton, GB @ The Haunt (Tickets)